Celebrating 7!

This weekend, we celebrated my eldest daughter turning seven. It seems like only yesterday that I found out I was pregnant with her and all of a sudden she’s turning 7! Where did the time go?

When asked how she would like to celebrate, she said she wanted a small party with just seven friends. She also said she wanted to paint and have a pinata. And she wanted purple. And no theme. Okaaaaaay…… I was seriously stumped here. So I kind of let the thoughts on the party percolate for a bit, asking for a little more detail each day. She said she definitely did not want a theme. So when I asked about the pinata, she finally told me she wanted an emoji. Great! Now we were getting somewhere!

As for the painting, no emojis for that. Okaaaaaay….. So finally I was able to get from her that she wanted a puppy. Great! More direction!

Finally, the cake. Purple. No theme. Not a dog, not an emoji. Okaaaaaay…… Hello Pinterest, can you please solve this for me? After looking at photos of many purple cakes, I finally landed on an ombre rosette cake using purple (instead of the pink I was seeing everywhere.). I showed the boss and we had a winner!

While the elements of the party weren’t in the same family by any means, it was still enough to feel cohesive and fun. I think I did a pretty good job of pulling this one together. What do you think?

I would love to hear your thoughts!