A Pencil Skirt Saga

Have you ever gone to a store and bought some item, and then regretted it once you got home?  But, you were too lazy to return it and it really was a great deal?  You find yourself rationalizing how to keep this said item until it’s too late and you’re stuck with it.  Well, a funny thing happened to me a couple  years ago that hearkens back to this very dilemma.

One day a couple years ago (it may have actually been close to a decade ago, ay yi yi!) when I had terrible taste in clothing and absolutely no idea about fit or cut, I saw this a-line skirt for sale.  I thought it was such an appealing print that I paid no mind to the fact that it didn’t fit in the waist and it was much too long for me.  I kept it hanging in my closet for years just looking at the print and wishing I knew why I never liked the way it looked on me.

IMG_5553

Before

Well, I finally faced this skirt demon and decided that I should make it into something usable.  Since there was really too much material, I thought making it into a pencil skirt would be just the ticket.  I found a great youtube tutorial from Craftovision that gave a quick and simple tutorial on how to make your own skirt pattern and then assemble your very own pencil skirt.  It looked so easy!

This skirt took longer than I anticipated.  I ended up re-sewing the zipper 4 times because I couldn’t get it right.  I had to redo the darts since the darts from the pattern didn’t quite fit my body correctly, and I decided to move the zipper to the side and re-use the wide waistband from the original skirt, modifying it so that it actually fit me.  I also added a slit in the back of the skirt so it would be easier to move around, which ended up in me improvising a bit on the pattern.

IMG_5844

After

Man, I really need to improve my sewing skills!  However, that being said, I’m very pleased with the result and I hope that should I happen to be so daring as to try this again, it will be much quicker the next time around!

I would love to hear your thoughts!

