Knitting Inspiration

IMG_5856

I have been working on knitting a dress for my daughter for quite some time.  I decided that it would be nice to actually try out some patterns and knit something useable, like an article of clothing.  As I have found with knitting, it is a very time-consuming process and I do tend to get bored easily if I am not making something interesting.  Perhaps this is why I like making baby hats or toddler clothes.  They are smaller than adult clothing or accessories so you see results quickly!  Hahaha…. talk about instant gratification!

Anyways above is a photo of the color palette I’m working with.  I love this palette.  It is so soft and feminine without being overtly so.  Also, I love that the colors reflect the softness of the yarn itself.  I’m using the Lion’s Brand angora merino yarn in “Blossom”, “Blue Bonnet”, “Smoked Pearl”, and “Pewter”.  This is probably the nicest yarn that I’ve used to date.  I wanted to be sure if I was going to spend the time on a nicer article of clothing that the materials I used didn’t detract from the final piece.  Sometimes you see a very beautifully executed piece but it had the sad misfortune of being made from a material that didn’t do it justice.  Not to say that I’m an expert at choosing which yarn to use for what product, but I realize that with many clothes, the choice of fabric or material really makes or breaks the success of a piece.  Those items that are beautifully made are only punctuated by the choice of the perfect fabric and color.  This doesn’t only hold true for clothing, but for anything, be it furniture, a painting, a rug, even food.  The finished item is only as good as the quality of the ingredients/ materials you use, don’t you think?

Enough of my observations though…. time to get crafting!

One thought on “Knitting Inspiration

  1. I really like the color of the yarns here. The pink adds just a touch of feminine without going overboard. The yarn looks so soft in the photo. I agree that the finished product is only as good as the materials used.

I would love to hear your thoughts!

