A 2-year old Affair

IMG_5177

This past week-end we celebrated my daughter’s second birthday. This was an especially festive occasion as both sets of grandparents would be present, as well as two of the three uncles and aunts, and the newest addition to our family!  My husband and I unwittingly made a bold decision to go bigger this year. We ended up having about 30 people in total (children, parents and grandparents) and the party was a blast!

My daughter was so excited for her party.  Even though she is only two, she understood that she was having a birthday party and was singing happy birthday to herself and all of her friends (many of whom have birthdays in very close proximity to hers).  We practiced blowing out candles, baking fake cupcakes with her toy cupcake set, and looking at her party dress that was saved for this special occasion.  When today finally came, she was so excited she could barely nap and squealed at the opportunity to change to her party clothes.  It is amazing to see how much she has grown and what she can comprehend, all at the tender age of two.

IMG_5181I had gotten it into my head a while back that this birthday party would be a dinosaur theme. My daughter seemed to really love dinosaurs and while her attentions have waxed and waned, I couldn’t help but stick to this theme. Part of the reason was that on my trip home back in June, I had dug up these really great dinosaur cookie cutters that my mom had used at one of my brother’s birthday parties when we were kids, and I always thought they were the coolest things in the world. I couldn’t pass up a chance to use them myself!

I used a very basic sugar cookie recipe for the base cookie and a royal icing recipe for the coloring.  My mom had bought these cutters from Wilton’s years ago, but had held onto them.  My mom was a great help in lending her hands to aid in the icing of these guys.  I think that they turned out great and we individually packaged each one and put them in a goody bag full of fun things for the kiddies.

IMG_5173Of course, I didn’t stop there.  We also had cupcakes.  I ended up using Magnolia Bakery’s devil’s food cake recipe for the cupcakes and a very simply cream cheese frosting for the decorations.  I added a little bit of sparkle by dipping the top tips of the cupcakes into silver dragees (which, by the way, were a huge hit with the kiddies – sparkly and sweet?  What’s not to love!?!)

All in all, it was a great party.  It’s amazing to reflect upon the last two years and marvel at how life changes in the blink of an eye.  I have to thank my husband for his foresight in ordering platters of food as well as for the grandparents for bringing other yummy snacks while I concentrated on the sweets and baking.  It was a wonderful concerted effort.  Happy birthday to my little honey!

I would love to hear your thoughts!

