The Long and Short of it

IMG_4965

My daughter is growing so quickly these days it’s hard to keep track! One day she’ll have pants that are rolled up at the cuffs and the next, they’ll look like capris! Well, you would think that maybe accessories would have more of a lifespan.

I had made my daughter some mittes in this previous post. I thought that they may last all winter. Well, let me tell you, I was wrong. A couple of things I have learned from my first mitten foray:

1. Mittens are like socks on babies. They never stay on.
2. Mittens are like socks on babies. They get small very quickly.
3. Mittens are like socks on babies. They get ripped off the moment you put them on.

My husband and I broke down the mitten problem for our daughter in particular. It seemed that no mitten that we got her was long enough as they seemed to slip off quickly and easily. We finally concluded that perhaps a long mitten, almost like a second sleeve, that you put on before the jacket, may actually stay on. It was worth a shot.

IMG_4964I made these comfy looking mittens using some yarn that I got as a Christmas present from my brother-in-law and his wife. His wife is extremely talented as well and makes these adorable amigurumi dolls. She actually made one for my daughter of Hello Kitty in a duck outfit! Anyways, they got me a very thoughtful gift of some circular knitting needles, a little yarn caddy, and some yarn. I decided to use one of the balls of Lion Brand Homespun yarn for thie mitten. This yarn is very soft and comfortable. It’s acrylic so it’s machine washable and dryer friendly, always a plus when we’re dealing with kids!

This was a very quick project and I think that these turned out quite well! They look really comfy and the yarn is thick so I think these will be quite warm. I’ll have to see how they test out, but at least they’ll stay on for a little longer, yes? Wish me (and my daughter) luck!

I would love to hear your thoughts!

