Bugging Out

IMG_4959

I had the bad luck of being sick this week-end. It was one of those bugs where you feel your limbs are lethargic with fatigue and soreness. I put myself under quarantine and stayed in for most of the week-end, but as a result, needed something to keep me from going stir-crazy.

Ever since I stumbled across this tutorial for DIY children’s hair clips, I’ve been secretly planning on my own version of this. I had come across this really cute tutorial here and had actually tried out the roses in this previous post, but I thought the rose was too big for my daughter at this time.

IMG_4951I had seen a bunch of different ideas of felt hair clips being sold on amazon.com or zulily.com. For those of you who don’t know, zulily.com is an online retailer that has daily sample sales of children’s or maternity related clothing, accessories, and gear for discounted prices. Seeing all the different possibilities inspired me to make my own spin off of the felt hair clip.

I decided to make a ladybug hair clips. My daughter really loves seeing pictures of ladybugs and gets very excited to point them out so I thought they would be especially cute and meaningful for her. I started with some small hair clips that I purchased from the local drugstore (not the adult size, but the smaller children’s size) and some felt I had leftover from all of my previous felt crafts.

IMG_4945I hand stitched the black spots of the ladybug, the shell on the pink body, and used two french knots for the ladybug eyes. I think these turned out quite cute, and my daughter, who hates anything in her hair, actually let me clip them in her hair and wear them for a morning. These were very easy to make and took about an hour each. I would encourage anyone to try this as a simple and quick craft, and I can’t wait to see what else I can make!  What do you think?

I would love to hear your thoughts!

