Aflutter With Anticipation

I know that I haven’t posted in a very long while and I do apoligize.  Things just tend to happen and you get swept away in a tide of neverending things to do.  I do hope this marks the end of my busy period so that I can get back to crafing!  That being said, moving on!

I was inspired in my online musings by a number of images of butterflies.  When I was planning the felt owl mobile that I made for my nephew, I came across a lot of images of butterfly mobiles.  I thought to myself “What a great gift!”  I saw many different interpretations on butterfly mobile execution and had an idea in my mind of what I would want mine to look like.

I thought this would be a perfect gift for one of my friends who is expecting her first child in October.  She is not finding out the baby’s gender, so it will be a big surprise!  I thought a lot about how I wanted this mobile to read.  I designed it to be hung from the ceiling over the crib.  I wanted this to have different levels, so I made the butterflies follow a spiral pattern and planned two colors to try and accentuate the spiral.

I‘m pretty happy with how this turned out.  This was time consuming because I had to individually knot each butterfly in place, so I don’t know that I would be making this again anytime soon.  An unexpected surprise once I hung this up to take photos, was that the butterflies actually moved in the wind every time there was a breeze, or the AC turned on, so it had a nice added effect of motion, which I thought was a nice touch, given the subject matter.

3 thoughts on “Aflutter With Anticipation

I would love to hear your thoughts!

