What a Hooooot! (Part 1)

I know that my postings have not been as consistent as of late, and I do apologize.  There have been a lot of changes going on, but I do have a bunch of great projects to post about!

My big brother had his second son not too long ago. I had been contemplating what to make for our new family member for a while. I was browsing pinterest and got the idea of making a mobile. I saw a number of different mobile ideas, but I stumbled on some owl mobiles that I thought were so adorable! After making 2 owl hats (see previous posts here and here) I was starting to understand this owl appeal.

I found a couple mobile ideas that I liked and sort of mashed them all up together and modified them to what I was trying to accomplish. This mobile took quite a while for me to complete because it was an experiment every step of the way.  There were many challenges to this project so I will be splitting this project into two posts since it was such an undertaking.

The first thing I had to do once I decided on the general idea, was to choose a color scheme.  I live by a small but convenient craft store that carries limited but essential items, one of them being felt, which is what I selected as the main medium for my project.  I decided at first that I was going to make 4 owls, two larger and two smaller, for this mobile.  That being said, I decided on 4 main colors that I would rotate around for a different color combination for each owl.

Next, I had to make a template for what I wanted.  This took me a little bit to figure out since I wanted to make sure I got the proportions right.  I did find an image of a nice owl mobile that I thought was very successful, which was on sale on Etsy.  However, I did change a couple of the components for how I wanted the owls to interact with the overall motif.

I decided that I would hand-sew the owls.  Since each was relatively small, I didn’t think it should take TOO much time.  I think that this greatly helped in the look of the final product.  The above is a sneak peek of how one of the owls turned out.  My next post will show the final mobile!

7 thoughts on “What a Hooooot! (Part 1)

  1. I love anything with owls these days, not sure why, but your owl is charming. I think it was a good idea to hand sew them it adds to the piece 🙂

  2. Pingback: What a Hooooot!!!! (Part 2) | fromstephwithlove

  3. Pingback: Aflutter With Anticipation | fromstephwithlove

I would love to hear your thoughts!

