The First Decision of the Week-end

This past week-end, I woke up feeling a little crazy. I say this because usually when I’m forced awake at 5:30am on a Saturday by a baby who refuses to continue sleeping, my first instinct is to roll back over and go to sleep and let my husband deal with it…. errr….  I mean….. get up and feed my baby immediately!  Hahah… well, it changes depending on how many consecutive nights of rest I’ve gotten.  If you’re a parent, I’m hoping you can relate.

Anyways, this week-end, I was woken up at 5:30am (which is unusual, I usually bank on at least another hour or so) and for some reason, I thought it would be a great idea to make a fresh baked bread for breakfast!  (What was I thinking, right?)  Had I actually planned ahead, maybe I could have made something more deliberate.  As it was, I had to survey the contents of our kitchen.  Luckily, we had 2 ripe mangoes screaming to be used, and I always have a good stock of baking ingredient options in case the bug ever hits me.  I had just gotten some pecans so I thought that mango and pecan in a breakfast bread may work.

I never really baked with mango before and I was a little apprehensive of it’s flavor really coming out in baking.  Something surprising for me with some fruits is how mellow their flavors are upon baking, like strawberries.  Strawberries, when they don’t have a lot of help (sugar) are fairly mellow in flavor.  Sometimes you forget from all the commercialized flavoring of strawberries what they really taste like, but I digress.

So Mango Pecan breakfast bread!  I was pleasantly surprised at the result.  It was sweet, while not being too sweet or overpowering, and the softness of the mango was complemented nicely by the crunchiness of the pecans.  My daughter LOVED this.  She ate her entire slice and half of mine.  And by eat, I mean “picked out all the mango pieces and left some bread for me”.  All in all, not bad for a 5:30am inspiration.  If only I could be this inspired and determined every morning!

I simply used this recipe from my previous post, but substituted in 1 whole mango in lieu of the raspberries and blackberries.  I used a Tommy Atkins mango (from Fresh Direct), which is the mango with the red/green/yellow skin.  I normally like the yellow-skinned mangoes because I feel they have a more robust flavor, but this is just what I had.  If you don’t know how to cut a mango, this is what I did:

Using a vegetable peeler, peel off all the skin.  The mango is a little oblong in shape and the pit is also oblong and flat.  Find the thinner, flatter portion of the mango and stand this perpendicular to your cutting board.  Cut about 1/2″ on either side from the centerline of the mango (what an architectural description… hahaha) so that you are cutting around the pit.  This will be your main “meat”.  Then cut around the perimeter of the seed to get the rest of the meat.  For the rest around the seed, that’s my treat to eat away!

I would love to hear your thoughts!

