Apparently, Pancakes are a Baby Girl’s Best Friend….

My daughter just turned one not too long ago and has now graduated to eating all the foods that my husband and I eat.  She seems to have a very discerning palate, veering away from blander foods and opting for whatever happens to be on our plate.  Well, it’s always a challenge to figure out what to feed her, especially since she doesn’t seem to like eating the same thing over and over again.

One week-end, I was lying in bed before going to sleep, and thought that it had been a really long time since I had made pancakes!  Suddenly, I had a craving for pancakes and resolved to make them the next day.  I know that my daughter’s daycare gives them pancakes sometimes for breakfast so I figured I’d give it a try.  I made a really simple pancake recipe from scratch, smothered some good organic maple syrup on top,  and took her organic apple sauce and spread it onto the pancake.  I cut it up into pieces and put it on a plate in front of her.  I am not kidding you, these pancakes disappeared so quickly I didn’t even know what happened.  I didn’t expect her to finish a whole pancake so I actually ended up giving her half of one of my pancakes since she kept pointing insistently at my plate!

I have since made this recipe a number of times, but sprinkle in chocolate chips for the “adult” version.  It’s a very fast recipe and very easy to make with ingredients that are usually laying around in the pantry.

Pancakes – makes (5) 5″ round pancakes

1 C all-purpose flour
1 T granulated sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 beaten egg
1 C whole milk
2 T cooking oil

1. In a medium mixing bowl, combine the dry ingredients and form a well in the center.

2. Pour the wet ingredients into the well and whisk everything together until just combined and the large lumps have been incorporated.

3. Turn heat on low and ladle batter into a small frying pan until the batter just covers the bottom completely.  Let the pancake bubble and pop and wait for the edges to look dry.  Using a spatula, run it around the edges to loosen it from the pan and check to see if it is lightly golden.  Flip pancake and cook a 2-3 minutes on the other side or until golden.  Place on plate.  Smother with maple syrup and organic applesauce and serve.  Yum!

4 thoughts on “Apparently, Pancakes are a Baby Girl’s Best Friend….

I would love to hear your thoughts!

