A Pound of Goodness

Baking time!  This week I made a lemon pound cake for our weekly breakfast venture!  The weather had been getting really beautiful and I just feel like lemons and spring are in the air!

This next bread is a twist on a classic that I grew up on.  Ever since I was little my mom has been making pound cake.  This recipe is really easy and can be adapted in many ways.  I remember my first time taking a bite of this cake and thinking “oh my god, this is so fluffy and the crust is so crunchy!”  It was such an amazing blend of flavors and textures that I asked my mom to teach me how to make it.  I think I then proceeded to make an entire bundt pan of it each week for the next couple weeks and finally my dad asked me to stop because of how many eggs were in it!

Anyways, I love this cake and I’ve put my own twist by adding the lemon juice and zest.  For the plain pound cake, just don’t add these items.  I hope you enjoy it!

Lemon Pound Cake (makes 1 5×9 loaf pan or if you double it, 1 bundt pan)

1/2 C butter, room temperature
1 1/2 C granulated sugar
3 eggs (imagine a double recipe…. 6 eggs!)
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 C flour
1/2 C whipping cream
juice of 1 lemon
zest of 1 lemon

1. Grease loaf pan and set aside.  Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy

2. Add vanilla.  Using a hand mixer, beat eggs in one at a time until well incorporated.

3. Add flour 1/2 a cup at a time, mixing after each addition. Pour in whipping cream and beat on med-high speed for 5 minutes until the batter is smooth and fluffy looking.  Pour in the lemon juice and the zest and mix well.

4. Pour into the greased loaf pan.  Put pan into a cold oven and turn temperature on to 375°.  Cook for 1 hour or until a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.  Remove from oven and place on a cooling rack in the loaf pan for 10 minutes.  Remove from pan and cool completely.

One thought on “A Pound of Goodness

  1. Pingback: A Cry for Spring | fromstephwithlove

I would love to hear your thoughts!

