Yes, We Have Some Bananas….

People who know me also know that I love to bake.  I used to bake just for fun and bring all the goodies into the office for all of my co-workers to be my “taste testers” but really, I found that baking was such a fun way to express my creativity.  I love trying new recipes, and although I wouldn’t say that I’m a “daring” baker, I do like to think that I’m creative and experimental.  Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t, but with each try, I learn something.

Being a new parent, I find myself with an excess of fresh fruit in my house.  More importantly, I’ve discovered that bananas are a baby’s best friend.  My daughter LOVES her bananas.  When she was first starting on solid foods, bananas were a GREAT thing to feed her.  Just get really ripe bananas and mash them up.  No teeth needed to eat this sweet goodness!  Better yet, mash it up and mix it with oatmeal as a natural sweetner!  Yum!!!

Since we had more bananas than we could eat and they start to ripen so quickly, I started to look for other ways to use them.  I naturally turned to baking!  I love making breakfast breads, so I thought a banana bread would be great!  I also had some bran hanging out in my pantry that I wanted to use up, so I decided to try making a banana bran pecan bread.  I love mixing the things in my pantry together to see what I get.  I have to say, the finished result was AMAZING!!!!  The bread rose the perfect amount and the bran gave the bread a moistness and heartiness that really worked to enhance the banana flavor.  The nuts, well, I love breakfast breads with nuts because it adds a nice texture to the overall bite.  I would highly recommend making this bread!

Banana Bran Pecan Bread

2 C all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

2 medium bananas (about 10″ long)
3/4 C All Bran Cereal soaked in 3/4 C warm water (so the bran softens)
2 eggs, beaten
1 C sugar
1/2 C cooking oil
1/2 C Pecans, halved

1. Preheat oven to 350°.  Grease a 9x5x3 loaf pan and set aside.  Soak the bran in the warm water.

2. Combine all of the dry ingredients together in a mixing bowl and form a well in the center.

3. Combine the wet ingredients.  Pour them into the center of the well in the dry ingredients and mix until just moistened.  Fold in the nuts.

4. Pour the batter into the loaf pan and bake for 55-65 minutes or when a wooden toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Remove from oven and place on a wire rack for 10 minutes.  Remove from the pan and cool completely on the wire rack.

One thought on “Yes, We Have Some Bananas….

  1. Pingback: Mommy Skills | fromstephwithlove

I would love to hear your thoughts!

