Fuzzy Wuzzy Was a Bear

I’m in hardcore hat mode! I’ve been churning out hats so quickly that we’re starting to get over-run!   We have so many friends with babies that are turning one and I’ve been doing my best to keep up with all my daughter’s little friends and make them each a thoughtful and personalized little gift!

I made this next hat for one of our friends who had their baby boy two days before my daughter.  Just some background, this baby came 2 weeks early!  I guess he just wanted out.  And he was a big boy too!  I remember meeting him for the first time!  He was so chubby and cuddly and cute with all his little baby-fat rolls!  You just wanted to squeeze him!  And he had the greatest temperament.  He was so chill and easygoing.  When faced with what to make for him, I thought a cuddly bear would be so perfect!

Since I have been making quite a number of hats at this point, I felt fairly comfortable making up a design.  I was inspired by these pants that my daughter has, which has a bear face on the butt.  These are SO cute, especially when the babies start crawling around and they leave you in the dust!  All you see is a little bear face zipping down the hall!

One thing I noted in making this is that with more attachments added onto the hat, there is probably less likelihood that the hat will stretch as much as say a monochromatic hat.  We’ll see what happens.  I think I’m going to have to loosen up my stitches or edit the pattern again to accommodate large heads!

Anyways, I love the way this little guy turned out and will definitely have to try this design again.  I can’t wait to see a picture of the new owner in his cuddly new hat!  Happy hatting!

10 thoughts on “Fuzzy Wuzzy Was a Bear

I would love to hear your thoughts!

