Brrrrr….. it’s cold out there!

I don’t know what’s up with this weather lately!  A couple weeks ago was so gorgeous!  Mid-70’s and sunny, such a joy to be outside!  I was fooled into thinking it was spring, and I think the poor magnolia trees thought so too, since they are already dropping their blooms (about 3 weeks early!)  All of a sudden though, it’s cold and windy temperatures again, although deceptively sunny and pleasant-looking when you’re inside looking out!  Bundle up!

I thought that given the weather, it would be fun to post this cute little hat that I made for my daughter’s daycare BFF!  She was born 1 week after my daughter and they have been going to daycare together for about 10 months.  Whenever I go to pick my daughter up, usually her and her friend are the last two babies there and her friend will quickly crawl to the baby gate to be picked up so that she can say bye-bye to us when we leave.  I heard that the same goes if her friend’s mom gets there before me.  And apparently, they sit next to each other during mealtimes and will share food with each other.  So cute!

Her friend was an early mover, and I thought it was so amazing how she could pull up and toddle around with help at 7-8 months.  My husband and I would joke that her toddle/waddle taught our daughter to toddle/waddle as well.  It was so cute and reminded me of penguins, so I thought a little penguin hat would be perfect for her!

In looking for ideas for penguin hats, I came across a lot of hats that had separate pieces for eyes, which I wasn’t too crazy about.  I really wanted to integrate the entire face into one piece, so I ended up experimenting and coming up with my own design for this.  I really like how it turned out and can’t wait to try it again in a different size!  As usual, I used the Vanna’s Choice and Vanna’s Baby yarn, which is machine washable and dryer friendly.  I would caution anyone who has a handmade crochet item to make sure you wash it in the gentle cycle (cold) in a netting to be safe, and lay flat to dry so that you don’t accidentally block your hat.  What’s blocking?  It’s a process to mold your finished work into the shape you want.  You can find a tutorial here.

I can’t wait to try out more hat designs!  Stay tuned!

6 thoughts on “Brrrrr….. it’s cold out there!

  1. Pingback: Shake, Rattle and Roll | fromstephwithlove

I would love to hear your thoughts!

