Happy 1-year Birthday!

Today my daughter turns one! I can’t believe that it has been a year already!  So much has changed and yet I wouldn’t trade it for the world.  I still remember seeing her for the first time and holding her in my arms.  I know it sounds sappy, and I don’t consider myself to be a very sappy person, but my life changed in that moment and I will never forget how it felt.

In celebration of a year of priceless memories that our small, nuclear family has experienced thus far, we are throwing her an intimate party with family.  At first, my husband and I were going to keep it really low key.  Just a small lunch and a pleasant afternoon.  However, as the time drew nearer, I got more and more excited about the prospect of this milestone and the thought of not doing something celebratory made me sad.  So, I started to look at different ideas on first birthday parties.

I went to a variety of sites to look for “themes” that I thought were simple yet fun.  I’ll blog more about my source of inspiration after the party, so stay tuned!  While I won’t give everything away, I’m giving you a sneak peek of what’s to come.  The photos in this post is a birthday banner that I made for my daughter.  Can anyone guess what the theme of the party will be?  To re-create this, you will need the following items:

Materials:

  • patterned wrapping paper
  • 3 different colors of construction paper
  • cardstock
  • gluestick
  • scissors
  • tape
  • exacto knife
  • flat cutting mat
  • metal straight edge
  • string
  • 2 bowls, one about 1/2″ larger around than the smaller one (I used 2 tupperware containers)

Step 1: Using the larger of the bowls (or whatever circular stencil you choose), trace a circle on the cardstock and cut it out.  These will act as the backing of each letter.  You will need 13 of these.

Step 2: Using your gluestick, glue the circle to the back of the printed wrapping paper and cut it out in the circle shape.  You will end up with 13 patterned circles.

Step 3: Using your smaller bowl, trace a circle on the construction paper and cut it out.  You will need 13 circles and you will want to alternate the 3 colors as seen in the finished photo.

Step 4: If you have a printer, find an easy font to print out the letters to “Happy Birthday”.  You can then cut out the letters with scissors or the exacto on a cutting mat and use it as a stencil on the circles to trace and cut out of the construction paper circles.  I do not have a printer so I had to free-hand the letters with a straight edge and cut them out with an exacto on the cutting mat.

Step 5: Using the gluestick, glue the construction paper circles on the wrapping paper circles, centered.  Don’t forget to glue the inner parts of the letter on these circles otherwise your A, P, B, and D will look kind of strange.

Step 6: Cut out 2 pieces of string, long enough for each word and with about 2′ extra for hanging on a wall.  Tape the string to the back of the circle to fasten in place.

Happy First Birthday my dear and many more to come!

One thought on “Happy 1-year Birthday!

  1. Pingback: Everybody Polka….. dot dot dot…. | fromstephwithlove

I would love to hear your thoughts!

