The Mad Hatter

I don’t know about you, but I love love LOVE baby hats. Especially with ears. I think there is nothing cuter than a cute animal hat atop a pudgy round face and two “I want to gobble you up” cheeks!

When I found out I was expecting, I went on a search for cute hats with ears but didn’t really have a lot of luck. I think that a lot of it was a seasonal thing (you’re not going to find this stuff in the summer). Anyways, I didn’t really get back on the hat track until recently. I think that what most inspired me was the winter season and this adorable alpaca mouse hat I found from the Egg by Susan Lazar line. Anyways, I bought it on sale and was SO excited to try it. However, it just didn’t fit For the amount of money I paid, I would expect it to fit!  C’mon! So I instantly began trolling websites and blogs and Etsy to see if there were other options, and let me tell you, there’s a lot of cute stuff out there.  But seeing all of the options left me inspired.  I thought “I can do this too!  And at least it will fit!”

So began my journey down crocheting hats and I must say, I had a great time with the process!  I must have gone to the yarn store about 4 times in 2 weeks.  I swear the people working there knew me.  My first visit consisted of me methodically squeezing every ball of yarn that they carried and then rubbing it against my face to see if it was “soft enough”.  The sales person kept approaching me asking me if I needed help (but probably really to make sure I wasn’t some crazy person about to wreak havoc).  I finally settled on the Martha Stewart “Extra Soft Wool Blend” from Lions Brand Yarn, which is machine washable and dryer friendly (which is a big deal when you have kids!)  The only thing that bummed me out was there wasn’t a huge color selection and everything was fairly “pastel”.  Oh well, this was a test in more ways than one.

I tried a number of different free patterns and finally, after combining a couple and making my own modifications, I came up with a (fairly) good hat shape that I feel is quite versatile.  I realized while making this that it would be such a great baby gift!  That being said, the photos in this post are of my very first hat and mittens set!  I made a 6 month baby aviator hat (no ears… yet!) with matching mittens (no pattern, I just winged it… har har) for our neighbor downstairs who is expecting a little boy in June.

For the mittens, I just chained around and eye-balled it.  I had to try a couple times to make them look evenly sized.  Also, I don’t know if you knew this, but I was always wondering how people didn’t lose just one baby mitten all the time, like when you do laundry and the laundry monster eats just one sock!  Well, I had seen mittens with this long string connecting them and never put two and two together until I saw a kid with some mittens hanging out of their coat sleeves!  This was a huge “AHA” moment for me as I finally realized that a lot of baby mittens come attached so you can string them through the arms of a coat and they will, thus, never be lost!  For the hat, I tried a couple of different pattern (I thought the easiest to understand was here) and then built on that to make the aviator flap with buttons on front.  As I was making this hat, I was already thinking of ways to adapt, improve, embellish, or build on this, and the possibilities seem limitless!  Stay tuned for more hatty fun!

    

9 thoughts on “The Mad Hatter

  1. Um, these are adorable. Can I place an order for two. I don’t even care that babies don’t wear winter hats in June. 😉 Hope you are well, Steph! ❤ Cori

  2. Pingback: Wink, Wink, Guess Whoooooo? | fromstephwithlove

  3. Pingback: Mommy Skills | fromstephwithlove

  4. Pingback: Hands Down | fromstephwithlove

I would love to hear your thoughts!

